The most well-known of the iconic sailing barges to have sailed along the River Thames arrived at Hoo Marina in early September, for winter storage, as she marks the end of her 110th year.
90ft-long sailing barge Cambria was built at the F. T. Everard and Sons Limited boatyard at Greenhithe in 1906 and is famous for being the last British registered vessel to carry cargo under sail alone – the final cargo being 100 tonnes of cattle cake in 1970 when she was owned by the folksinger and bargeman Bob Roberts.
Since being restored in 2007, thanks to £1.4 million from the Heritage Lottery Fund, Cambria has been able to provide life-changing experiences for hundreds of young people in association with the Sea Change Sail Trust as well as being hired out for private charters. Cambria has also been active in the annual programme of traditional barge match races.
You can find out more about Cambria by visiting the Cambria Trust’s website here or take a look at the groups more up-to-date Facebook page here.
Photograph appears courtesy of Rob Powell at the Cambria Trust.